Tuesday, 26 April 2011

Pantaloons Femina Miss India 2011 Winners!



If you have any article, photograph, video etc which you want to share with us through our blog. You can send email us at talkduo@gmail.com or click here


  1. Miss India or Femina Miss India is a national beauty pageant in India, one of the most recognized contests to produce international beauty queens in the 90s, which annually selects three winners to compete globally . It is organized by Femina, a women's magazine published by Bennett, Coleman & Co. Ltd.

    In 2007, the organizers of Femina Miss India decided to eliminate runners-up and that all three finalists, who represented India in Miss Universe, Miss World and Miss Earth, were all equal winners, unlike previous years.

    As of 2010, Femina Miss India relinquished the franchise to send a representative to the Miss Universe pageant, and the third winner will represent India in Miss International instead.

    The current Femina Miss India titleholders are Kanishtha Dhankhar as Femina Miss India World 2011, Hasleen Kaur as Femina Miss India Earth 2011, and Ankita Shorey as Femina Miss India International 2011.

  2. Miss India has been participating in the Miss Universe pageant since 1953, starting with Indrani Rehman; and in the Miss World pageant since 1959, starting with Fleur Ezekiel. There is no clause that stipulates that the winner of Miss India (or winner of a National Title) cannot participate in the Miss World and Miss Universe pageants in the same year. However, after the Femina Miss India pageant was established, the custom was to send the winner to the Miss Universe pageant and the runner-up to the Miss World contest.

    Traditionally, the second-runner up used to represent India in the Miss Asia-Pacific and other independent pageant winners are sent to less prominent international pageants such as Miss Asia and Miss International. From 1995, the practice of choosing a single winner or "Miss India" was changed to instead elect representatives to the different international pageants. The three winners, who receive equal prizes and status but are called Miss India winners, and are designated Miss India World, Miss India Universe, and Miss India Asia-Pacific. As of 2002, the third winner is no longer be sent to Miss Asia-Pacific, but to the Miss Earth pageant, which is recognized as one of the three most prestigious beauty pageants in the world.

    The awards for 1989 were given at the end of the year (December); hence there was no separate contest for 1990.

    In 1994, Sushmita Sen won the Miss Universe title after winning the Miss India crown and became the first Indian woman ever to win the Miss Universe crown. The same year the runner-up of Miss India, Aishwarya Rai, won the Miss World title. Both Sushmita Sen and Aishwarya Rai established themselves in the Bollywood industry after winning their titles.

    The success of Sushmita Sen spawned coaching institutions which were set up to groom girls in pageant participation skills. The number of participants in the preliminary rounds of the pageant has increased considerably. Miss India World 1997, Diana Hayden won the title of Miss World 1997.Pageant winners are also groomed for months in preparation for the international contest. In 1999, the Miss India winner Yukta Mookhey went on to win the Miss World that year.

    In 2000, three of the Miss India winners won their respective international pageants – Lara Dutta (Miss Universe), Priyanka Chopra (Miss World) and Diya Mirza (Miss Asia-Pacific). The only other country to have won all three major titles in one year was Australia in 1972.

    In 2007-2009, three equal winners were selected going to Miss Universe, Miss World, and Miss Earth.

  3. Controversies erupted in the year 2008 when President of Gladrags, Maureen Wadia served a legal notice to the newly crowned Pantaloons Femina Miss India Earth 2008, Harshita Saxena for violation of a two-year exclusive contract with Gladrags which had been signed by Harshita in the year 2006. To participate in any other beauty pageant, Harshita would have required a written letter of no-objection from Gladrags. Earlier in an interview with CNN-IBN Maureen Wadia said, "Harshita Saxena from Goa is a Gladrags model. She was a part of my Megamodel Contract in April 2006. Her contract has not expired and Harshita has entered in some other contest before the contract has expired. The contract clearly said that they have to take my permission." Owing to this, Harsita had to give up the title and the crown passed on to Tanvi Vyas who represented India in the Miss Earth 2008 paegent held in the November of 2008. Harshita was later placed 4th in Miss India 2009 and represented India in Miss International 2009.

    Starting in 2010, Femina Miss India relinquished the franchise to send a representative to the Miss Universe pageant. Tantra Entertainment Pvt. Ltd. (TEPL) in collaboration with 1994 Miss Universe Sushmita Sen have started a new pageant called I Am She – Miss Universe India. The winner of this pageant will participate in the Miss Universe pageant.