Monday, 3 November 2014



MARTYR'S MEMORIAL: It is a life-size statues east of the secretariat in memory of seven brave young men who sacrified their lives in the Quit India movement of August 1942, to hoist the national flag. It's foundation stone was laid by the first governer of Bihar, Shree Jairam Das Daulatram, on 15th of August, 1947. Later the well-known sculptor Shree Deviprasad Roychoudhry built the huge bronze status of the seven students advancing with the national flag held high. He had these statues cast in Italy and placed them here. The names of the seven martyr's are engraved in the memorial :
  • Umakant Prasad Sinha of Ram Mohan Roy Seminary, Class IX.
  • Ramanand Singh of Ram Mohan Roy Seminary, Class IX.
  • Satish Prasad Jha of Patna Collegiate School, Class X.
  • Jalpati Kumar of Bihar National College, 2nd year.
  • Devipada Choudhry of Miller High English School, Class IX.
  • Rajendra Singh of Patna High English School, Matric.
  • Ramgovind Singh of Punpun High English School, class IX.



If you have any article, photograph, video etc which you want to share with us through our blog. You can send email us at or click here

No comments:

Post a Comment