Saturday, 25 November 2017

Bihar girls beat Bengal

Bihar beat Bengal by eight wickets on Friday in the first match of the Bihar Women Championship Cup 2017 organised by the Cricket Association of Bihar at Urja Stadium.

Radha of Bihar, who took three wickets in five overs giving away 18 runs and scored an unbeaten 27, was adjudged woman of the match.

Bengal won the toss and chose to bat first. They were all out for 83 in 24 overs in the 25-over match. For Bihar, Jayas scored the highest for Bihar, 34 including four 4s, before being adjudged LBW in 34 runs. Radha was the second highest scorer for Bihar. Sanddhya and Tanusha Kiran scored 5 and 11 runs respectively.

For Bengal, Sainy Das was the highest scorer with 32 runs and the second highest scorer was Priya Yadav who scored 28 runs. Radha was given a cash reward of Rs 1,000. Mohammad Arshad, secretary of the Nalanda district cricket association, gave her the prize.

Such a championship is being organised in Patna for the first time. Three teams are participating in the championship. Bengal will take on Delhi on November 25 and the final will be played on November 26 with Patna Sahib MP Shatrughan Sinha as the chief guest. The championship was inaugurated by former Indian hockey player Renuka Majumdar and JDU MLA Shyam Rajak.

Earlier in the morning, all three team members launched an awareness campaign march from the Youth Hostel which Patna traffic superintendent of police P.K. Das flagged off.

Aditya Verma, convener of Cricket Association of Bihar, said that theme of the championship is Beti Padhao and Beti Khelao



If you have any article, photograph, video etc which you want to share with us through our blog. You can send email us at or click here

No comments:

Post a Comment